Congress history

68 years of IUCN World Conservation Congresses held in all corners of the world.

In the past, Congresses were held every two years, then every three, and now they are held every four years. Initially, the Congress only consisted of the Members’ Assembly of all IUCN member organisations. Since 1996, the Congress has grown to include the Forum, open to all, to debate major sustainable development issues, propose solutions and facilitate the sharing of information and experiences.

2012 Jeju   1975 Kinshasa
2008 Barcelona   1972 Banff
2004 Bangkok   1969 New Delhi
2000 Amman   1966 Lucerne
1996 Montreal   1963 Nairobi
1994 Buenos Aires   1960 Warsaw
1990 Perth   1958 Athens
1988 San José   1956 Edinburgh
1984 Madrid   1954 Copenhagen
1981 Christchurch   1952 Caracas
1978 Ashkhabad   1950 Brussels
1977 Geneva (extra ordinary session)   1948 Fontainebleau

Venue Selection

Traditionally, a World Conservation Congress is hosted by one of IUCN’s State Members. Preference is given to countries and regions that have not hosted a Congress in recent years.

Invitations to express interest in hosting the Congress are generally sent to IUCN State Members and Governmental Agencies three to four years before the next Congress. More information on the selection process for 2016 can be found here.

Go to top